In the News
This article is reposted from , click here to read the original article.

European Association of Social Anthropologists Pledges Non-Cooperation With Israeli Settlement Universities

Near-unanimous membership vote establishes a non-cooperation policy with Israeli academic institutions in the occupied Palestinian territory and expresses solidarity with Palestinian academics bearing the brunt of Israel's discriminatory policies.

Motion on Israeli academic institutions in the Occupied Palestinian Territories - online voice emphatic

EASA members voted in an online poll in overwhelming numbers to express their solidarity with colleagues in occupied Palestinian territories: In support: 830; Not in support: 21; Abstentions: 37.

This vote followed the motion tabled at the Stockholm AGM concerning Israeli academic institutions situated in occupied Palestinian territories. The motion called for EASA to express its own opposition to the establishment of academic institutions exclusively serving Israeli citizens, situated within occupied Palestinian territories of the West Bank and to pledge its own non-cooperation with these institutions; and to express its solidarity with Palestinian academics and students suffering the brunt of these discriminatory policies as well as with the Israeli colleagues of the Israeli Sociological Association and Israeli Anthropological Association who oppose the same policies. View the motion.

The AGM motion received 164 votes in favour, 17 abstentions, and 0 votes against. 

After the AGM, the EASA President received a letter from the Israeli Anthropological Association thanking us for our support and explaining in detail the situation in the Occupied Territories: the letter from the President, Nir Avieli, can be seen here.


Stay updated!

Sign-up for news, campaign updates, action alerts and fundraisers from the BDS movement.

Subscribe Now